Time

It seems almost impossible to find some time for Mox (or MTG) these days. Wes Cherry, creator of Windows Solitaire, said:

The thing about time is they are always making more of it. No harm done.

I can’t say I agree! 🙂

In other news, I’ll be presenting a lecture at this year’s Montreal International Game Summit next tuesday. Have a great week.

 

About fparadis2

Lead Game programmer
This entry was posted in Mox. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time

  1. Hellfish says:

    Cool. What are you lecturing on?

    • fparadis2 says:

      I’m talking about the direction we took with the design of an in-house game pipeline at work (Ubisoft), basically explaining some of the more unorthodox choices we made.

  2. Gabriel says:

    Hey!

    I got mox yesterday and after taking a look at the solution I see you’re very commited to your design. I found it almost near perfection, and that’s the reason you work for a major game company. I’m writing this comment in hope you answer some questions.

    1. Is there any book you recomend that made your coding better in:
    a. – for game development?
    b. – for code design?

    2. How you became a game developer at Ubisoft?

    3. Do you have any recommendations for aspiring game developers?

    I don’t remember any more questions. That’s it for now. Thanks in advance and congratulations for your awesome work.

    • fparadis2 says:

      Hi, thank you for your interest!

      1. I didn’t really learn from books so it’s hard for me to recommend one. I think the Game Programming Gems series is pretty good. If you’re interested in Microsoft technologies, you’ll probably like http://channel9.msdn.com. codeproject.com is pretty good too. I used to check out gamedev.net often too when I started and I learned a lot about the mumble jumble there.

      2. I applied 🙂 Seriously, I did some tech demos and stuff on my spare time and I brought them along for my interview. I think it made all the difference in the world. Now, I get to conduct the interviews and I like when people can provide actual examples of their work.

      3. Get your hands dirty. Write some code (I’ll assume you want to be a programmer). Experience is everything in this business. That’s what you can sell. The more code you write, the better you get. There’s no going around that.

      See you around!

Leave a Reply

