Random news tidbits

Hello everyone, here are some quick news about my progress on Mox:

  • I added a glow effect on cards to distinguish between playable and non playable cards, much like in the DOTP game on Xbox Live Arcade. Go check a video of that game on youtube if you want to know what that glow looks likes πŸ™‚ Mine is not animated though (… yet!)
  • I added a tap animation, i.e. the card gently turns on its side instead of popping into its tapped position. Looks very nice and was pretty easy to do in WPF.
  • I started working on the core engine again. I activated simple combat AI. As expected, I did not have to change a line of AI code for it to attack. It detects automatically that attacking hurts the opponent and chooses to do so by itself.
  • I didn’t activate AI blocking yet though. I expect that this is the place that’s going to hurt the most in terms of performance because the combinatorics of attacker/blocker pairs can really explode there! Might have to find a way to cheat and only evaluate the most probable combinations. If you have ideas or experiences regarding that, I’d be happy to hear them.

See you around!

About fparadis2

Lead Game programmer
This entry was posted in Mox. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random news tidbits

  1. mega says:

    I’m excited πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work, hope to see a release soon.

Leave a Reply

